Saving Animals

After considering this thought for many years, I’ve come to realize that I don’t have a “dream job.” I do, however, have interests that I hope will guide me into an appropriate career. My passion is working with animals—I love my job as a Veterinary Technician.

While this isn’t the career I want to pursue for the rest of my life, it has certainly helped me to figure out what direction I’d like to take with veterinary medicine. Most of you would say, “shouldn’t you be a veterinarian?” But the truth of the matter is that I don’t want to be a doctor—I don’t want to be responsible for diagnosing medical problems and ordering care for patients.

puppy1My dream is to open up the country’s largest animal shelter and provide top-quality care, rehabilitation, and rehoming for any number of animals.

Since childhood, I’ve always had animals. My interest in their care and well-being has never faded. I used to love going with my mom to take our pets to the vet and when I was old enough and able to drive, I started taking them myself.

I got a job working as a kennel assistant a few years ago at a local vet hospital and they have since trained me to work with the animals and clients. When we have a sick patient that needs hospitalization, I enjoy taking care of them and nursing them back to good health. I’ve always been compassionate towards animals and I plan on getting involved in rescue work.

The hospital I work for has a partnership with a local cat adoption rescue. We do all their vet work and I’ve had the chance to see what running a shelter is like. I’ve learned what’s needed for an animal to be adopted (vaccines, lab tests, etc.) and I’ve also seen common diseases that infiltrate shelters and how to effectively deal with them. At the hospital I work for, I am learning more about the business side of veterinary medicine including inventory and ordering, ways of promoting business, and ways of reducing cost.

ShowImageI’d succeed in the business of animal rescue and rehabilitation because I know what I’m getting myself into. Rescues rely mostly on donations and fundraising. I’d use social media to my advantage to promote my shelter and gain supporters. The American Humane Association has a great post called Operational Guides for Animal Shelters which explains a lot of information ranging from animal adoption to fundraising plans to record keeping and sanitation.

I’d also succeed because my heart is truly passionate for the care and well being of animals. The best part about my job is not only watching puppies and kittens grow into adults, but also watching successful rescue stories. It’s always very satisfying watching a dog or cat come from an awful situation and find a loving home willing to work with any special needs.

Posted on February 7, 2016, in animals, rehabilitation, rescue, shelter. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just from reading your about me and dream job post, I can tell you are a very interesting person. I also love animals and wanted to work with them when I was younger. I think we are in need of a place that puts animals first and offers “top quality care.” I admire you dream job and hope to make a donation to it someday in the future.

    Like

Leave a Reply

VetRepro

Stories and thoughts about small animal reproduction and ultrasound

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

